1. Hello,

Looking for current information on server wipes and blueprint wipes. I'm honestly surprised there isn't a sticky thread for this. I've looked but most information seems old and talks about .db files which I have none of in my server folders.

I'm a new admin running a Rust server on a Linux box that I have root access to, so I do this all myself.

I need some clarification:

If Rust requires an update and I stop the server using [./rustserver stop] followed by [./rustserver update] and restart it, does it wipe the map and blueprints? If yes, what files do I need to backup (be specific as possible please) to retain blueprints.

Would this be the typical procedure when updating?
    1. ./rustserver stop
    2. backup anything that might get wiped out
    3. ./rustserver update
    4. restore files that were backed up
    5. ./rustserver mods-update
    6. ./rustserver start

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 1, 2017
  2. I run one on Linux as well. It's save (if doing weekly update and not wipe), stop, update, validate, mods-update, wipe (1st Thursday of the month-unless you are running a high pop/fast game), start. Wipe command should only wipe the world, not the bp's.

I am trying to find out if there is a command for wiping bp's or if it's a file that needs to be erased.

3. @nimdasys @Sunset Merlot The wipe command will wipe everything as it was intended to do so. If you want to keep BPs I recommend making a backup of the user directory, wiping and then reapplying said copy.

4. Ok good to know thanks!

5. Thanks for the help guys. Does anyone know if tomorrow is a forced blueprint wipe? Or do we just have to wait until the blog comes out?

6. @nimdasys Follow Commits for November 2017 and look for commits that contain persistance++. Any build marked with that tag will force a BP wipe. So far no build with the said tag so no, no planned BP wipe this update.

7. Perfect thanks!

8. It doesn't seem that they will force wipe the blueprints.