Rust Hardcore mode

Discussion in 'Plugin Requests' started by RawkStar, Jun 12, 2015.

1. Grab yourself a stack of cooked wolf meat and light a campfire, because this is going to be a long post. There’s a TL;DR at the bottom for those who want to skip reading all the details and want to get straight to the point.

Alright, well to start off this is going to be more of an ongoing project rather than just 1 plugin. I wasn’t sure where else to ask all of this without making multiple posts. I’ll give an overview of what I’m looking to achieve, followed by requests. Some of what I request may not be doable (either currently or ever) or has already been made and I’m just not aware of it. I have some minor experience with coding, but nowhere near the amount that most of the people here do. Any guidance, advice and time from those who can offer it is greatly appreciated.

The Overview:

What I’m looking to achieve is something of a more immersive and realistic survival experience, where stepping outside and gathering resources takes planning and consideration. No more roaming at night unless you’re in desperate need for shelter or supplies. No more “spray and pray” shootouts, every bullet counts. It’s not the size of your base that matters, it’s how well you designed and built it.

What I’d like to do is try and shift a bit more attention to the PVE side of things. PVP will always be a huge part of Rust, however I feel that the “survival” aspect of the game has fallen solely on surviving against other players and not the surroundings and environment.

Requests:

I’ll be throwing out all the ideas I’ve had and what I’d like to do and I’ll leave it to the coder community to determine if what I’m asking is possible or not and if anyone is interested in creating it.

• Modify spawn rates on certain animals (ie: more aggressive mobs like wolves/bears, less passive mobs such as chickens and deer)