Solved Writing C# plugins?

Discussion in 'Rust Development' started by sililia, Jun 27, 2015.

1. Ok, so to cut to the chase, I want to start developing plug-ins For rust Experimental. I want to use C# since, its the fastest language that oxide has as far as i know and plus its the only language i have some experience in. I'd Like to say I have a fair amount experience in C++ but it's not supported by Oxide?

So the thing is, i dont know where to start when. What do i need to download, and where do could i find oxide api or anything i can use to learn plug-in development . Any help is appreciated

Best regards
    Sililia

2. Wulf

Wulf Community Admin

3. Great!! Thank you very much @Wulf

One more question, How do and what do i use the Assembly-CSharp.dll for, For compiling or just to look at the code?

4. Wulf

Wulf Community Admin

To look at.

5. Is there some more info on the subject, interested myself and would like to have a look at a guide with an easy to understand process, if it is available.

Going over what Wulf supplied it has confused me, I understand about the link to the code but would like some more info on how it is used.

6. Wulf

Wulf Community Admin

That's pretty much it. You'd need to be familiar with C# and decompiling for advanced plugins, else look at existing plugins and the Docs for the basics.

7. Where is a good place to start lol, at the moment I can only edit code I am looking at.

Sort of have a basic understanding of each symbol because of plugins already available, I just want to know if there is some resources into starting your own and working up from it.

8. There is no real "how-to" docs at the moment. As Wulf has stated, get a decompiler and look at Assembly-Csharp.dll for all the functions in the game, look at the docs for hooks that are implemented (most of the stuff you need is already hooked)