1. hey guys and girls... im brand new to this game and wantet to try and make a server and its all good i can join and all that stuff... but my friends cant join me..

when i use this Open Port Check Tool to look at my port i get port 80 is open

this is how my .bat fil is

C:\dan\steamcmd.exe +login anonymous +force_install_dir C:\rustServer\ +app_update 258550 validate +quit

RustDedicated.exe -batchmode +server.hostname "My Rust Server" +server.identity MyRustServer +server.maxplayers 500 +server.ip**.***.***.** +server.port 28015 +rcon.port 28016 +rcon.password ****** +server.worldsize 2000 +server.seed 2147483647
    +server.saveinterval 600 -logfile “output.txt” +server.description "My server\n is amazing"

when he is trying to connect to me he use this
    client.connect **.***.***.**:28015
    and just get attemt fail

when i join i just use client.connect localhost:28015

2. Wulf

Wulf Community Admin

Port 80 is not used by the server, 28015 would be. Make sure you have it forwarded on your router and your +server.ip should be set to 0.0.0.0.

3. how do i change the port ?? i have setup my router to this

port forwarding
    • WAN Interface : data_adsl
    • WAN IP : **.***.***.** THIS
    • Trigger Start Port : 28015
    • End Port : 28015
    • Translation Start Port : 28015
    • Translation End Port : 28015
    • Server IP Address : **.***.***.** AND THIS IS THE SAME
    • Protocol : tcp/udp
    but when i do the sceach it tell me port 80 is open

4. Wulf

Wulf Community Admin

That should be fine, just make sure you are forwarding to your computer's IP, not your external, and that you aren't setting your external with +server.ip.

5. it is my external i have use do i have to change both then i have only change server ip to the computers ip ??.. i have just change the .bat file to +server.ip 0.0.0.0.

6. Wulf

Wulf Community Admin

0.0.0.0 should work fine in the .bat.