1. While in a conversation yesterday afternoon, I had an idea which tumbled out of my head and onto paper. But before I go any further with this, there's some things I don't understand about Oxide and I was wondering if one of the core Oxide or plugin developers could help me.

I just want to make one thing clear though - I'm not trying to make a new API. What I'm trying to get to is something much simpler. Please bear with me.

First a bit of background about me. I used to be a programmer in an easy to use high level language called AS for IBM mainframes, but I haven't done anything like that in over a decade. Since then I've had about 120 PHP plugins and scripts developed for me based on my specifications. So I'm confident when I say I'm good at coming up with simple methods to make things work. Okay? :)

This is the core of what I'm trying to get to.

a) - A (Rust or Oxide) plugin checks a directory on a web server every 5 (or n) minutes.
    b) - If there are new XML (or JSON) files in that directory, it opens each one in turn, parses them for pre-specified variables, reads the values and then issues a server command which may include the usage of one of those variables e.g. partial player name or Steam ID.

That's pretty much it. I realise there could be a fair bit of clever stuff going on in b) that I've glossed over for now.

Why would anyone want to do this? Some may have already cottoned on to the answer.

It allows a simple method of controlling a Rust server based on events that happen on a web site WITHOUT anyone having to know how to code with the Oxide API to make this happen. We're not all as technically aware as plugin developers, so if there's any way of admins interfacing with a web site that's a little easier to use than the raw API, I'm all for it. ;-)